Lessons in Self-Discipline and Adaptation

January – A Healthy Me
Days 2, 3, and 4

Food:

This weekend was all about self-discipline.  During the week, it’s easy to stay away from unhealthy foods (as long as you don’t have Oreos and Cheetos hiding in your pantry), but the weekend brings so many challenges.  Every time I turned around there was something tempting me.  On Friday, it was the buttered popcorn and wild cherry pepsi at the movie theater that was being consumed RIGHT next to me.  On Saturday,  it was the invite to Red Robin for gourmet burgers and fries, and the cheese and sausage pizza that my boyfriend and friend had delivered to the house.

I’m not going to lie, I did have a few bites of the popcorn and several sips of the wild cherry pepsi, but what kept me from mindlessly eating half the bucket was an inspiring story about my developmentally disabled cousin.  Recently, she started the weight watchers program to lose some of the extra pounds she had gained due to a medicinal side-effect.  She has stuck to the program and has exhibited AMAZING self-control (she’s already lost 15 lbs!).  Over Christmas break, she went to the movies with the family, and was expecting to get popcorn like usual.  Because there was dessert awaiting everyone at home, she was asked to choose – popcorn now, or chocolate pie later.  She chose the pie (good choice if you ask me!).  The rest of the family ordered popcorn, and despite the temptation sitting right next to her, she never once complained or even asked for a bite.  Now THAT is control.  Despite her developmental challenges, I sometimes wonder if she may be more brilliant than all of us.

photo (6)Left to Right: Ande (the inspiration), Madeline, Brie, and ME!

Yoga:

I haven’t practiced yoga regularly in a very long time.  I’ve forgotten how wonderful it feels!  After 4 days I already feel more open, strong, and at ease with life.  I’ve also realized that my toes are in desperate need of a pedicure…you stare at your bare feet quite often during your practice.  🙂

Today, a winter storm is making its way through Central Illinois, and I am therefore stranded at Nick’s house in Metamora. Unfortunately, I didn’t bring any of my yoga gear, so I had to adapt!  As it turns out, you don’t have to wear super cute lululemon yoga pants to have a successful yoga practice.  Today I wore my new christmas tree pajama pants and I think I had my best practice to date!

Daily Actions:

Friday:  The 5-minute revolution – Sometimes, we feel a bit overwhelmed by making major life changes, but it doesn’t have to be daunting.  Even doing 5-minutes of something productive can make you feel great!  I decided on 5-minutes of meditation – paying attention and being with the present moment.  I actually did this while washing dishes, and it made the task quite pleasant.  Other ideas – write in your journal or do a mini-workout.

Saturday: Make a healthy snack to share – I prepared guacamole to eat while watching the play-offs with Nick.  Unfortunately, I was a bit heavy handed with the red onion, and did not end up sharing.  Maybe next time?

Sunday:  Clean one room of the house – I don’t know about you, but I HATE it when my living space is a mess.  It somehow makes me feel like I don’t have my life together.  Since I was stranded at Nick’s house, he got a clean kitchen out of the deal!

2 thoughts on “Lessons in Self-Discipline and Adaptation

Leave a Reply

