New Beginnings

January – A Healthy Me
Days…yep, I lost track.

Mind:  
This week has been rough on me.  I am preparing to move out of my downtown apartment that I have come to love despite its many annoyances.  I’ve lived through a leaking bedroom ceiling that ruined a ton of my books, loud construction that interrupted my sleep, and radiators that heat the place to a stifling 80 degrees during the winter.  Yet somehow, as I pack up my belongings, I can’t help but feel like I’m leaving something truly wonderful behind.

I like to think that I am open to change, but in reality, I really struggle with it.  It’s hard to leave something you know and love behind, only to dive into the unknown.  From past experiences, I know that new beginnings can be rough, but I have also come to realize that once I break through my fears, doubts, and “what-ifs,” I discover something wonderful – about myself, about the world, about people.

This new chapter in my life will be no different.  Yes, I will miss my independence.  I will miss the view outside my kitchen window and the sun that comes streaming in through the living room each morning.  I’ll miss being in a downtown setting and the atmosphere I’ve created with all of my art and furniture.  Hey, I may even miss the creaking of the floor above me when my neighbor is bustling around. I’ll miss what I know.  But I also have so much to look forward to.  First and foremost, my friendship with Hannah (my new roomie) will inevitably deepen.  We’ve already planned on movie marathons, intense workout sessions, and DIY craft nights.  Though there are a million unknown factors that will surface in the coming months, I must have faith in the beauty of the unknown and the power of change.  After all, when looking back, the wonderful things that exist in my life are the results of changes that occurred in the past.

photo 2 (2)

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Body:
When we think about working out, we usually envision running, lifting weights, or being athletic in some way.  As a society that primarily sits all day, we often have to create time devoted solely to exercise.  But working out doesn’t have to be separated from our other obligations.  For instance, this week I had to focus on packing to prepare for my upcoming move.  Though it may not be as intense as running, it certainly offers your body more benefit than if you were sitting on the couch watching television.  Saturday is moving day – I will be carrying boxes, tables, my couch and bed down two flights of stairs and into a trailer.  I will definitely be counting that as my workout for the day.  🙂

Soul:
Here’s several pictures of meals I’ve created this past week.  I’m continually impressed with the quality of these recipes.

Raw Pad Thai

Raw Pad Thai

Skillet Salad with Sausage

Skillet Salad with Sausage

Broiled Salmon with Ginger-Garlic Pilaf

Broiled Salmon with Ginger-Garlic Pilaf

Leave a Reply

