January Lessons and February Activities

5 Lessons I Learned in January:

  1. Writing is one of the healthiest activities you can do for yourself.  I do quite a bit of technical writing in my job, but I haven’t written for just me in a long time.  When I was studying abroad, I committed to writing in a personal journal daily.  I wanted to remember all of my experiences and document the complex thoughts and ideas that were being taught to me.  Every time I look back at those journals, I am shocked at the amazing connections I was making and the crazy epiphanies I was having.  This blog is helping me realize that I don’t need to be in a foreign location or in college to exercise my intellect.  There are a million ideas rolling around in the world and in my head.  Writing allows those ideas and thoughts to come to life.
  2. Sometimes we fall off track.  Transitioning to a new living space put strain on my ability to grocery shop and prepare healthy meals; all of my kitchen supplies were packed away, and I was trying to clean out my fridge, not add to it. Additionally, a huge deadline at work was pushed up, which caused me to work longer days.  As a result, I ate out quite a bit and did not set aside time for writing and yoga.  There are ways I could have stayed on track.  I could have prepared several meals the week before and I could have made time for at least 20 – 30 minutes of yoga.  But sometimes, we stray from our intentions, and that’s okay.  It’s just important to get back on track as soon as we can.
  3. I like spending time in the kitchen.  With the exception of the last week in January, I have been spending a lot of time in the kitchen, and I find that I am quite fond of it.  I used to get super stressed out when I cooked, until my college roommate, Raisa, suggested I play music and pour myself a glass of wine.  This was great advice, and I have  tried to follow it ever since.
  4. I prefer practicing yoga in a group/class setting.  I thought that practicing yoga alone would make it easier to be mindful of each pose and concentrate on my breath, but personally, I find it to be more difficult.  There’s something so much more relaxing about being in a quiet, dark room with other people’s energy flowing around me.  In the coming weeks, I plan to attend more group yoga classes.
  5. Accept what you don’t like.  Because it has amazing nutritional benefits, I cook salmon dishes relatively often. Every time I cook it though, I’m disappointed.  It’s not a taste I particularly enjoy, and I never look forward to eating it.  Being healthy also means being happy, and if salmon isn’t doing it for me, I don’t need to force myself to eat it.

February (Relationships) Activities:

When I started this blog, my intention was to do daily actions.  I’ve found this to be quite difficult, so I’ve decided to switch things up a bit.  Instead of daily activities, I will commit to doing several activities throughout the month, maybe 3-4 per week.  Here is a list of activities for February:

  • Email or call an out of town friend I haven’t spoken to in awhile.
  • Plan a unique date with my boyfriend.
  • Call or send a letter to a relative.
  • Send postcards to several friends.
  • Go out to dinner with the whole family.
  • Re-arrange my office (exploring my relationship with space/place)
  • Grab a drink with someone I want to get to know better.
  • Surprise a friend with a thoughtful gift.
  • Cook a meal for someone.
  • Offer to help a friend with a task.
  • Let someone know I care for him/her and why.
  • Compliment someone.

I’m super excited to get started with these activities! ❤

One thought on “January Lessons and February Activities

Leave a Reply

